Dyeing Easter Eggs

Peace Corps’ Second Goal is to¬†help promote a better understanding of Americans on the part of the peoples served. As Easter rolled around, I thought it would be fun to share the cultural customs of many Americans in dyeing Easter eggs and having an egg hunt. In years past I dyed eggs naturally using carrots, spinach, cumin, beets and more. This year, however, I took the easier route and used store-bought egg dye (which you can find in Romero). After hard-boiling and dyeing the eggs, I decorated them with pastel chalk.

During my English class, the students and I compared our cultural customs surrounding Easter. They thought it was funny how a bunny sneaks into the house and leaves a basket full of chocolates and sweets. They mostly celebrate the holiday by killing and eating one of the family chickens, and by making michila (a warm banana, coconut drink). To end the class, I taught them how to have an Easter egg hunt. It was a bit hit with the students and my puppy, Kabe, who ate most of the eggs he found. Overall, this was a fun activity to celebrate Easter and share cultural customs. I’ll definitely do it again next year!

Leave a Reply

