Lavender deodorant

One day I ran out of deodorant and didn’t want to leave the house. In the States, it is not a big deal if you forget to put on deodorant or run out. You simply run to the store, or not worry because you are most likely in AC. Here in Bocas, if I don’t put on deodorant I almost offend people. On those days, there is a going joke with my Ngabe community members that my “sulundroin ouele malo”…literally that my armpit hair smells bad. We all laugh and crack up about it…but deep down I knew something must be done. I don’t want to be remembered as the gringa with the smelly pits! So I decided to look up how to make deodorant, for those times when I run out again.
Online one can find hundreds of recipes for homemade deodorant. The one I chose includes the following ingredients: 1/4 cup organic cornstarch (you can also use witch hazel but that isn’t sold here), 6 T coconut oil, 1/4 cup baking soda, and essential oil (I used tea tree and citrus orange). Have fun with which essential oils you use. Mix the ingredients all together in a sealed jar and store in a cool spot. It works great, but sometimes creates a rash. If this also happens to you, try a recipe for sensitive skin. Now my sulundroin will never smell too bad, but I am sure the joke will never be forgotten!

Leave a Reply

