Tire Painting

The other day I was collecting smooth rocks from my nearby stream for a stepping stone pathway to the shower. While I was searching, I came upon half a tire! It was quite baffling as there are no roads north of this stream. Either way, I was really excited as I have been wanting to use tires for recycle projects. Down at the Quebrada Pastor school, the artistic teachers transform tires into hanging birds and flower pots. I decided to place it around my hibiscus plant to offer some support. Then I painted ‘Ju Edikwe’ (which is Ngabere for Edi’s House) along the rim. I always try to support and set an example for activities one can do with basura. If I ever come upon a full tire I’d like to make a hanging bird flower holder to place beneath my upstairs porch! Let me know what crafts you do with old tires.

Leave a Reply

